The Visible Hand

Universities / McGill University

Economics at McGill, six ways

McGill degrees are 120 credits, and a typical one-term course is 3 credits. Students from outside Quebec take 120 credits including a 30-credit Foundation year; Quebec CEGEP graduates take 90. Every figure below is given in McGill's own credits so it matches the calendar, and as a percent of the degree so it can be compared with other schools.

Calendar: 2026-2027Last verified: Province: QuebecLanguage: EnglishDeclare: At the start of U1 (after the Foundation year for students entering from high school)

Where the credits go

Select a program to load it into the comparison below. Unit counts assume the most common course choice where there are options; categories are The Visible Hand's grouping, not the university's.

Math & computingStatistics & econometricsEconomic theory & topicsBusiness & financeOpen units (electives, breadth)

Side by side

Pick any two programs. Select a course to see what it covers and which programs require it.

Same requirement in bothOverlaps (different options)Only in this programOpen or unnamed units

Select any course above to see its title, what it covers, and which programs require it.

The differences in one table

AttributeEconomics Major Concentration (BA)Economics Honours (BA)Economics and Finance Joint Honours (BA)Economics and Accounting Joint Honours (BA)Economics Joint Honours (with another subject)Economics for Management Students Major (BCom)
DegreeBABA (Honours)BA (Honours)BA (Honours)BA (Honours)BCom
FacultyFaculty of ArtsFaculty of ArtsFaculty of Arts with the Desautels Faculty of ManagementFaculty of Arts with the Desautels Faculty of ManagementFaculty of ArtsDesautels Faculty of Management
Total credits120120120120120120
How you get inDeclared by Arts students, usually at the start of U1. Students should see a majors adviser every year.Enter in U1 with two terms of calculus (MATH 140 and 141 or equivalents) and MATH 133 completed before U2, and a GPA and CGPA of at least 3.00 in the previous year.As for Economics Honours, with two terms of calculus completed. Needs a B- or better in every course in the finance component.As for Economics Honours. Needs a B- or better in every course in the accounting component.As for Economics Honours, combined with a Joint Honours component in a second subject such as Mathematics, Political Science, Philosophy or Psychology.Admitted to the Desautels BCom from high school or CEGEP, then choose the Economics major.
GPA to continue—3.03.03.03.0—
GPA to graduate—
C or better in every course used for the program
3.0
B- in ECON 250D1/D2 and a B- average in honours ECON courses to continue; First Class Honours needs 3.50
3.0
B- in ECON 250D1/D2 and a B- average in honours ECON courses to continue; First Class Honours needs 3.50; B- in every finance course
3.0
B- in ECON 250D1/D2 and a B- average in honours ECON courses to continue; First Class Honours needs 3.50; B- in every accounting course
3.0
B- in ECON 250D1/D2 and a B- average in honours ECON courses to continue; First Class Honours needs 3.50
—
C or better in every Management Core course
Math & computing (credits, % of degree)—10 (8%)10 (8%)10 (8%)10 (8%)6 (5%)
Statistics & econometrics (credits, % of degree)6 (5%)9 (8%)9 (8%)9 (8%)9 (8%)6 (5%)
Economic theory & topics (credits, % of degree)30 (25%)33 (28%)21 (18%)21 (18%)21 (18%)30 (25%)
Business & finance (credits, % of degree)——30 (25%)30 (25%)—33 (28%)
Open credits84 (70%)68 (57%)50 (42%)50 (42%)80 (67%)45 (38%)
Best suited toPairing economics with a second program; law, policy, business.Graduate school in economics, research, central banking.Investment banking, asset management, finance graduate programs.Accounting designation paths, audit and advisory, corporate finance.Economics at honours level alongside a second discipline.Business careers with strong economics: consulting, banking, policy roles in industry.
SourceAcademic calendar
Report an error
Academic calendar
Report an error
Academic calendar
Unconfirmed: This 60-credit program is listed as offered by Management. Arts rules say a Joint Honours with a component outside Arts needs a second Arts Joint Honours component or a Minor; whether that applies here is not stated.
Report an error
Academic calendar
Unconfirmed: This 60-credit program is listed as offered by Management. Arts rules say a Joint Honours with a component outside Arts needs a second Arts Joint Honours component or a Minor; whether that applies here is not stated.
Report an error
Academic calendar
Report an error
Academic calendar
Unconfirmed: The catalogue lists MATH 122, MATH 123, MGCR 233 and MGCR 250 as U0 Foundation courses, but does not itemize the 18 credits for this major; MGCR 233/250 are counted in the Core here, so the 18 are shown as MATH 122, MATH 123 and electives. The credit-structure page is marked "under review".
Report an error

Getting in

Where students are admitted

Faculty of Arts (BA programs) or the Desautels Faculty of Management (BCom)

When the program is declared

At the start of U1 (after the Foundation year for students entering from high school)

Worth knowing

McGill uses a 4.0 GPA scale. Honours programs need a GPA and CGPA of 3.00 each year.

Things worth knowing before choosing

A McGill BA is always two programs

The Arts degree needs a Major plus a Minor, two Majors, Honours plus a Minor, or two Joint Honours components. The 36-credit Economics Major alone is less than a third of the degree.

120 credits, or 90 from CEGEP

Students arriving from high school outside Quebec start with a 30-credit Foundation year (U0). Quebec CEGEP graduates receive 30 credits of advanced standing and start in U1.

Take ECON 208 and 209 in U0, not the theory courses

The department advises U0 students to take ECON 208/209 and not to start ECON 230D1/D2 or ECON 250D1/D2 until U1. ECON 208/209 count only as electives, because Major courses must be numbered above 209.

Honours runs on calculus and B- grades

Two terms of calculus (MATH 140/141) are expected on entering Honours, and MATH 133 must be done before U2. Staying in Honours needs a B- in ECON 250D1/D2, a B- honours average, and a 3.00 GPA each year; graduating needs 3.00 overall.

400-level courses need calculus, even in the Major

The Major needs 6 credits at the 400 level, and those courses require Calculus 1 or a mathematical methods course, so Major students also need some calculus.

The Desautels joint honours set a B- floor

In the Economics and Finance and the Economics and Accounting Joint Honours, every finance or accounting course in the program needs a B- or better to earn Honours.

Economics + another subject: 4 ways to combine them

Because every McGill BA combines two programs, these are the usual ways economics pairs with a second field.

AttributeEconomics Major + a MinorEconomics Major + another MajorEconomics Honours + a MinorJoint Honours: Economics + another subject (e.g. Mathematics, Political Science, Psychology)
Economics sideMajor: 36 creditsMajor: 36 creditsHonours: 42 credits plus 10 of mathEconomics component: 30 credits plus 10 of math
Other sideAn 18-credit Minor, such as Psychology or ManagementA 36-credit Major, such as Political Science or MathematicsAn 18-credit MinorThe other subject’s Joint Honours component
Room leftAbout 36 credits plus the Foundation yearAbout 18 credits plus the Foundation yearAbout 20 credits plus the Foundation yearDepends on the second component
Entry hurdleLowestEach department’s rules3.00 GPA, B- in ECON 2503.00 GPA in both components
Best forAdding a second interest without much extra loadTwo fields at real depthGraduate school in economicsGraduate study across two fields, e.g. behavioural economics

Every course used for a BA program needs a C or better.

The Economics Joint Honours component and Major also exist for the Bachelor of Arts and Science.

Sources

Report an error on this page